Week 21 – Cliché

Sometimes trying to figure things out can be exciting, while at other times it can be frustrating. It just happened to be one of those days – I couldn’t get my brain to work, no matter how much I urged it to.

I stared at the page for what seemed to be hours. I couldn’t see it, couldn’t feel it. It just wasn’t coming to me. Where had that thread gone? I was clouded by fog, dense, grey and suffocating fog. I needed a high powered fan to clear it all away.

A lack of clarity can be interesting at times, while more often than we’d like, it is utterly frustrating. Gah, I already thought of that! I needed that light, an Edison light bulb floating above my head. The switch! Where was the switch? It used to be so easy before – the juices were running and it was all flowing.

Once upon a time… nope not that.

A long, long time ago in a land far, far away… nope.

There was once a… a… A what? A boy, a girl, a cow?

It wasn’t working. Not even the clichés were helping. Maybe I could have written about a one legged pirate with an eye-patch and… and… a parrot? No something different, how about a monkey? Lame. I was running out of time. Cliché, cliché, CLI-CHE. Cliché, cliché, CLI-CHE! The conga line music clung to the walls of my brain.

I should have just shut it down. Seemed pointless, why was I even bothering with it all? I clearly didn’t have what it took to keep up. A false talent if I say so myself. I didn’t care anymore, I decided that I’d just spew whatever dregs that still hadn’t found.

I’ve been dry for too long. In order to create, my well needs to be refilled. Where’s that oasis?

Leave a Reply

