Lack of Patriotisim

I have expressed my dislike to my country more than once, and it took me a while to realize why. The answer was very simple: it no longer feels like home. How can it be home when all I feel is unsafe? How can it be home when I’m scared from a simple task as walking down the streets? How can it be safe when everyone treats each other horribly? How can I feel safe when lack of decency is the norm? How can I feel safe when my country’s police and government is so corrupted that there is no justice? Yet, part of me still loves it, but sometimes it’s difficult to do so. Maybe I should start acting and treating others the way I wish to be treated. Maybe I can help change things to the better, and maybe not. I should still try.

Leave a Reply

